Celebrating 201 Years!  1820~ 2021

In 2020 Sandusky County turned 200 years old and with that milestone came a global pandemic.  5 years of planning events and celebrations was put on hold while everyone social distanced, wore masks and stayed home.  Well here we are over a year later in the spring of 2021 and we have turned the corner, vaccinations are open to everyone and the county is opening back up.  With that great news come the Bicentennial+1 events to kick of celebrations and local history themed events that were unable to be held last year. We thank our community for their support and especially thank our many dedicated committee member who have experienced some of the most challenging obstacles that any committee could face, yet rode out the storm and continued to push forward with Bicentennial Celebration plans.

Events SPOTLIGHT 2021

Traveling Museum

The Traveling Museum will be available for events between April 11, 2021 and December 1, 2021. Book your date(s) early as the Traveling Museum is available on a first-come first-served basis, and spots are filling fast.  Please note that requesting a date does not guarantee you the Traveling Museum. The Chairman will contact you to verify the dates and if the Traveling Museum is available. Please allow a minimum of 2 weeks before your event for booking the Traveling Museum. This will allow us to have proper staffing. 

The organization requesting the Traveling Museum will be responsible for museum security. A  Board Member will open and close the museum every day and will check on the museum during the event. There is no cost for the Traveling Museum, as long as the museum remains in the same condition that it is upon its arrival.

trailer proof back.jpg
trailer proof_edited.jpg
trailer proof 2_edited.jpg
Bicentennial Historical Video

On April 1, 1820, Sandusky County and the attached Seneca Territory held its first election. The first seat of justice was set in Croghansville which later became known as Lower Sandusky in 1827 then Fremont in 1849. The name for our newly formed county, “Sandusky”, comes from three Wyandot words meaning "Cold Water". Sandusky County is known for being a major agricultural producer, was once known as the cutlery capitol of the world and has been home to many famous individuals, including; Civil War generals James "Birdseye" McPherson and Ralph Buckland, astronaut Tom Henricks, author Sherwood Anderson and President Rutherford B. Hayes. This marker was placed here on April 1, 2020, in remembrance of the 200 years of hardworking and devoted people who carved from the wilderness and Great Black Swamp this Our Sandusky County.

Bicentennial Christy Knives
Harvey Oaks Facebook Advertisement.jpg
Limited Promo.jpg
Bicentennial Wine Advertisment2.jpg



Friday, Aug. 13

  • 3 p.m. – Craft and food vendors open

  • 3:30 p.m. – Guitarist Clay Kirchenbauer performs on Stage B. Sponsored by Technique Roofing

  • 6 p.m. – Dulcimer Group performs on Stage B. Sponsored by S.C.R.A.P.

  • 8:30 p.m. – Ghost stories with local historian Mike Gilbert on Stage A. Sponsored by S.C.R.A.P.

Saturday, Aug. 14

  • 11 a.m. – 10 p.m. – Craft and food vendors are open, Model-T cars on display throughout the day

  • 11:30 a.m. – Uptown Country Band performs on Stage B. Sponsored by Motion Controls

  • Noon – Flag raising and opening ceremonies

  • 2 p.m. – Living history presenter portraying Johnny Appleseed performs on Stage A. Sponsored by The Fremont Co.

  • 5 p.m. – Guitarist Clay Kirchenbauer performs on Stage B. Sponsored by Tech. Roofing

  • 5:30 p.m. – Medicine Man show performs on Stage A. Sponsored by Grund Drug

  • 7 p.m. – Living history presenter portraying Thomas Edison performs on Stage A. Sponsored by First National Bank

  • 8 p.m. – Bridge County Bluegrass Band performs on Stage B. Sponsored by Iron Works #55 Toledo and Capital Aluminum.

  • 10 p.m. – Fireworks Sponsored in part by a grant from the Sandusky County Communities Foundation.

Corporate Sponsors

Thanks to the generous donations from dozens of area businesses and agencies, we are able to plan this monumental year.  Please take a moment to browse through our sponsors list and be sure to thank them when you see them in our community.

Individual Sponsorships



Alex Gorabetz * Amanda Pochatko * Angie Morelock * Angie Ruiz * Bev Spieldenner * Bill Taylor * Bobby & Kellie Sears * Bob Hart * Carlos Baez * Chuck & Jerri Miller * Cindy Waggoner * Dale & Kay Reiter * Dan & Carol Polter * Daniel Sanchez * David Thornbury & Stacie Herner * Denny & Jan Day * Don & Kathleen Nalley * Dr. Cory Stine * Dr. Steve & Stephanie Rusher * Harry & Gloria Miller * Jeannie Gore * Jill Simpson * Jim & Connie Warner * Jim & Kay Miranda * Jim & Kim Moyer * Jim Parkhurst * Jim Weaver * Jodi Albright * John & Brenda Havens * John & Diane Roush * John & Leanne Shetzer * Johnathan & Becky Long * Judge Jeremiah & Melanie Ray * -Judge John Kolesar * Justin Smith * Kenneth C. Walz * Kim & Dave Cope * Kristina Smith * Larry & Susie Michaels * Laurie Young * Mayor Kevin & Holly Strecker * Mandy Burris * Maria D. Garza * Mark Mulligan * Mary Mitchell * Michael M. Waleryszak * Mike & Laurie Sistrunk * Mike & Mary Lou Jay * Mr. & Mrs. Jim Havens * Nicole M Linder * Pam Babione * Paul Grahl * Peggy Courtney * Randy McCullough * Rich Harman * Richard Stegman * Roger Kuns * Ronald Schumacher * Roy & Marty Wilhelm * Russ & Ruth Zimmerman * Ryan & Sarah Zimmerman * Scott & Colleen Carmack * Scott & Shannen Lang * Scott & Tammi Miller * Shawn Kern * Skip & Ellen Honsperger *  Steve & Moni Younker * Susan Cherry * Tom & Amy Anway * Tom & Kathy Stierwalt * Tony Taylor * Troy & Nicole Thatcher